When You Read This by Mary Adkins

when you read this

Rating
4/5 stars

Genre

Fiction – Contemporary

Goodreads Summary

For fans of Maria Semple and Rainbow Rowell, a comedy-drama for the digital age: an epistolary debut novel about the ties that bind and break our hearts.

Iris Massey is gone. 
But she’s left something behind.

For four years, Iris Massey worked side by side with PR maven Smith Simonyi, helping clients perfect their brands. But Iris has died, taken by terminal illness at only thirty-three. Adrift without his friend and colleague, Smith is surprised to discover that in her last six months, Iris created a blog filled with sharp and often funny musings on the end of a life not quite fulfilled. She also made one final request: for Smith to get her posts published as a book. With the help of his charmingly eager, if overbearingly forthright, new intern Carl, Smith tackles the task of fulfilling Iris’s last wish.

Before he can do so, though, he must get the approval of Iris’ big sister Jade, an haute cuisine chef who’s been knocked sideways by her loss. Each carrying their own baggage, Smith and Jade end up on a collision course with their own unresolved pasts and with each other.

Told in a series of e-mails, blog posts, online therapy submissions, text messages, legal correspondence, home-rental bookings, and other snippets of our virtual lives, When You Read This is a deft, captivating romantic comedy—funny, tragic, surprising, and bittersweet—that candidly reveals how we find new beginnings after loss.

Review

When You Read This was such a sweet, heartfelt, and hysterical read! I found myself laughing out loud numerous times at the humor the author incorporates throughout. Also, I absolutely love books that contain digital communication! A book filled with text messages, blog posts, emails, etc.?! Sign me up! It’s so fitting for the day in age we live in.

While this book contains a little heavy content, it is quite minimal, and I found it to be an overall silly and uplifting read. This would make a great palette cleanser in-between heavy reads. I will be lending this one out to my friends and highly recommending it!

Have you read this yet? If so, let me know your thoughts!

________________________________________________________

Thank you to Mary Adkins and HarperCollins for my free copy of this book!

Author Mary Adkins’s website

2 thoughts on “When You Read This by Mary Adkins

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s